Kaiserslautern / Fraunhofer ITWM / Workshop  /  March 12, 2024  -  March 13, 2024

Workshop on Terahertz Technology and Applications 2024

On March 12-13, 2024, we are organizing – supported by Optence e.V., VDI/VDE Society for Measurement and Automation Technology and DGZfP e.V. – the International Workshop on Terahertz Technology and Applications 2024. 

Terahertz technology has proven to be a valuable tool for applications in diagnostics, measurement and testing. However, the industrial use of this technology raises some difficult questions. The »International Workshop Terahertz Technology and Applications« promotes the exchange of knowledge and experience between academia and industry in this exciting and rapidly evolving field of research.

Thematic Focus of the Workshop:

  • Industrial applications
  • Homeland Security
  • Communication
  • Astronomy and Astrophysics
  • New terahertz system technologies

Contributions are also welcome from other subject areas. We encourage experts from academia and industry to present new developments. An industrial exhibition will accompany the workshop.

Renowned Speakers:

The following renowned experts have confirmed their participation and will give an invited lecture:

So far, the following speakers have confirmed their attendance:

  • Manijeh Razeghi, Northwestern University Evaston, Illinois, USA.
  • Daniele Fausti, Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany
  • Sota Mine, Nagoya University, Nagoya, Japan
  • Md Sadman Sakib Rahman, University of California, Los Angeles, USA
  • Nan Zhang, ANOR Technology, Singapur, Singapur 


  • Georg von Freymann, Rhineland-Palatinate Technical University Kaiserslautern-Landau RPTU and Fraunhofer ITWM
  • Joachim Jonuscheit, Fraunhofer ITWM

Program Committee

  • Israel Arnedo, das-Nano, Spain
  • Bernd M. Fischer, French-German Research Institute Saint-Louis (ISL), France
  • Georg von Freymann, Rhineland-Palatinate Technical University Kaiserslautern-Landau RPTU and Fraunhofer ITWM, Germany
  • Kodo Kawase, Nagoya University, Japan
  • Juliette Mangeney, Ecole Normale Supérieure, France
  • Daniel Mittleman, Brown University, USA
  • Hartmut Roskos, Johann Wolfgang Goethe University Frankfurt am Main, Germany
  • Elena Saenz, European Space Agency (ESA), The Netherlands
  • Miriam S. Vitiello, National Enterprise for nanoScience and nanoTechnologyNEST, CNR, Italy
  • Stephan Winnerl, Helmholtz Center Dresden-Rossendorf, Germany
  • Xi-Cheng Zhang, University of Rochester, USA