Media Review

At this point we offer an outline of our media review and collect current news and reports about our projects. Due to the clarification of rights, our focus here is on publications in the online media. These include specialist articles, professional portraits and interviews with our experts. Receive up-to-date information and follow the external reporting on current topics, important research results and product-ready developments from Fraunhofer ITWM.

Media Review 2022

 

Blogpost Newsletter / 11.5.2022

Robust Through the Crisis With Condition Monitoring and Predictive Maintenance

In times of delivery problems and rising energy prices, condition-based and predictive maintenance provides the basis for good planning. Our colleague Dr Benjamin Adrian reports in the german newsletter of the Economic Development Corporation (WFG).

 

Article hessenschau.de / 27.4.2022

Reporting Delay and Fewer Tests

Omicron appears to be pushing Corona statistics to their limits. The incidence is increasingly inaccurate, and the hospitalization rate lags behind. Experts therefore warn against being blinded by the current figures.

Our team around Dr. Jan Mohring supports with mathematics and simulation to approach the current dark figure in Germany. Read more in the Hessenschau article:

 

Technical Article / 10.3.2022

Using Math to Fight the Illegal Timber Trade

In »KI-WOOD«, our researchers in the »Image Processing« department are working with the Thünen Institute for Wood Research to develop an image recognition system that uses microscope images to identify wood species. The AI analysis software enables more comprehensive controls and a more intensive monitoring of material flows – and offers the chance to curb illegal timber harvesting.

 

Shortnews / 8.3.2022

Scalable Production of ATMPs (Advanced Therapy Medicinal Products)

ATMPs are a groundbreaking development for the treatment of cancer or hereditary diseases as well as regenerative medicine. Our division »Optimization« was involved in the publication of a Fraunhofer position paper on this from the »Pharmaproduction« innovation programme.

 

Article ingenieur.de / 22.2.2022

Digitalized Machine Tools

[Only available in German]

How do I monitor and forecast the wear stock? Our »System Analysis, Prognosis and Control« department and Berger Holding GmbH are jointly developing a monitoring system that addresses precisely this question.

 

Fachartikel / 26.1.2022

ERCIM News

In the February issue of ECRIM News 128 with the special theme Quantum Computing we are represented with two articles. On page 27 on the topic: »Energy Economics Fundamental Modelling With Quantum Algorithms« and from page 28 on the topic: »Quantum Fourier Transformation in Industrial Applications«.

 

Technical Article konstruktionspraxis / 7.2.2022

Mobile Machines in Software Testing

Developing new product generations of commercial vehicles or construction machinery is complex. With Hardware-in-the-Loop, our researchers offer the possibility to reproduce machines in a software simulation with a digital twin and to test them virtually. The article is only available in German, but you can find out more on our website in English.

 

 

Article Fraunhofer InnoVisions / 27.1.2022

Test Driving without Risks

If you want to test new assistance systems for vehicles, you might not want to go out on the road right away. The person should first drive our RODOS® (RObot based Driving and Operation Simulator). This is because our simulation system allows a large number of simulations. This benefits the development of assistance systems for (commercial) vehicles. Read more in the article of the german online magazine InnoVisions:

 

Article hessenschau / 20.1.2022

Corona Incidences: Is Now Only the Dark Figure Increasing?

[only available in German]

Omicron continues to spread. Nevertheless, the increase in incidence numbers may soon come to a halt: PCR testing capacity is approaching its limit – and so is the incidence that can theoretically be measured at all. Expert Dr. Jan Mohring deals with this dark figure and gives insights to hessenschau:

 

Radio Interview / 13.1.2022

Corona Incidence: High Numbers in the North?

Our institute director, Prof. Dr. Anita Schöbel, was heard live on SWR Aktuell radio as a Corona expert. Why are there so many new infections in northern Germany? And how should federal states like Schleswig-Holstein or Bremen proceed now? She also talks about current forecasts and the handling of Omikron in Rhineland-Palatinate. Missed the interview? No problem – you can listen to the recording online at SWR:

 

Textil Network Article / 12.1.2022

Virtual Quality Inspection for Filter Nonwovens

[Only available in German]

Nonwoven production received more public attention than ever, because the technical textile is crucial for infection control. The ultra-fine nonwoven products are produced in meltblown processes. An team of the Fraunhofer ITWM is optimizing the entire production chain in the ProQuIV project.

 

Podcast and Article Fraunhofer Magazine / 5.1.2022

Combat Billing Fraud in the Care Sector

In the Fraunhofer podcast and in the Fraunhofer magazine, Dr. Stephani and Dr. Leoff explain the challenges that have to be overcome in the project »PflegeForensik« (nursing care forensics) when auditing accounts and how time-consuming it is to uncover fraud.

Media Review Archive

Here you will find media reviews and news from previous years.